More Distracted Disc Golf Photography

Kent shoots his way out of the jungle.

Kent shoots his way out of the jungle.

Remember awhile back when I got distracted by softball when I was taking disc golf photos? Looks like it’s going to be an ongoing problem.

Curious dragonfly

Curious dragonfly

Such is the nature of that dastardly Nikon 105mm macro lens! I see so many things other than disc golf action whenever I have it slapped on the Nikon D300 . . . which, quite honestly, is why I use it. I’ve taken my share of disc golf photos using the Nikon 70-200mm, my standard outdoors action lens. But that gets boring after awhile. When you’re someone who thinks outside the box (usually because no one will let me in), you use unconventional glass for action pix. Which you hope will lead to more-interesting photos.

Take last Saturday. The Mister and the #2 son were playing in a small tournament that was basically in the backyards of two local disc golfers. Really! They had set up nine baskets, with alternate tees for nine different holes, in the field in front of and behind their houses. It helped that one of the guys’ sister-in-law lived next door, so they could use her yard, and that all the houses were on an otherwise empty cul-de-sac. Behind the yards was a large, green area that backed up to a small creek and some woods. A perfect location for chiggers (excuse me while I scratch the approximate 518 bites on my feet) and for a unique disc golf experience.

The #2 son lets the disc fly.

The #2 son lets the disc fly.

I started out taking action photos . . . until I saw that dragonfly. Then all bets were off, and I was suitably distracted.

Large purple flower (hope I'm not being too technical)

Large purple flower (hope I'm not being too technical)

Of course, there were the usual flowers that the 105 seems to be drawn to.

Yellow flower (hey, I'm trying my best to dumb it down!)

Yellow flower (hey, I'm trying my best to dumb it down!)

I kept trying to get a snap of a butterfly, but this was the best I could do.

Even moths like flowers.

Even moths like flowers.

There even were some “trespassers” on the property: This is a crawdad mound. Chuck, one of the guys’ playing partners, kicked one over and left the poor crawdads homeless. We’ll probably see them under a bridge in Houston, asking people who have stopped at the light if they want their windshields washed. Tragic stuff!

The elegant, high-rise crawdad mound

The elegant, high-rise crawdad mound

When the tournament was over, there were even more distractions while we waited for the results.

#2 shows off his bball ability.

#2 shows off his bball ability.

I was content to snap a few here and there of #2 showing off, when Sam took the basketball in hand.

Sam vs. the windmill

Sam vs. the windmill

Holy cow . . . look at that windmill! That became my model for several minutes, as I experimented with different shutter speeds to blur it.

Blurry vision

Blurry vision

So was I really distracted last Saturday? Distracted? From what?

4 responses to “More Distracted Disc Golf Photography

  1. That big purply flower is gorgeous!

  2. Pingback: Kansas City Flora and Fauna « Random Snippets & Apertures

  3. Pingback: A Devil of a Time Playing Halloween Disc Golf « Random Snippets & Apertures

Leave a Reply

