The Cukelicious Three Muscuketeers!

 

My two cukeys

My two baby cukeys

This is a photo story about two baby cucumbers that appeared in my garden a couple weeks ago and grew to be big and strong. When I saw the fuzzy, new growth side by side in our garden on May 22nd, I dubbed them “Cukey 1″ and “Cukey 2.” Clever, I know. It’s a curse.

Already getting bigger after two days

Already getting bigger after two days

Regular reader(s) know that last year we grew a katrillion cucumbers in our garden . . . and pert near nothin’ else. But even though we had cukes growing out our ears, there was one oddity: I never saw one start on the vine. Like they dropped from an oblong alien mothership, full-grown cucumbers would all of a sudden be there in the garden. Pretty weird stuff.

Baby cucumber appears on the vine

Baby cucumber appears on the vine

So this year I vowed to keep a lookout for the start of those cukes. Once I finally figured out what part of the vine they looked like, it was so much easier! And then I documented their growth. It was fast! Within 12 days those baby cukes in the top photo were ready to be picked.

Four days later

Four days later

Eight days later

Eight days later

Solo cuke

Solo cuke

There even was a solo cucumber several feet away growing at the same pace.

The three muscuketeers!

Picked and ready to eat

On the twelfth day, I picked the three muscuketeers. And last night, cukey 1 was part of my dinner.

Cukey 1 is ready to eat.

Cukey 1 is ready to eat.

I sliced it up along with an Early Girl and a Roma tomato from the garden. I dipped them into the best baba gannouj ever: Fountain of Health’s brand.

Baba Gannouj

Baba Gannouj

It was one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten! Totally cukelicious and almost totally homegrown. Thanks, cukey 1! Cukey 2 comes up to the plate (along with a couple more of our tomatoes) tonight. Soon the original three muscuketeers only will be a crunchy memory, but I know there will be many more cukes suddenly appearing in our garden before the growing season ends.

Better stock up on baba gannouj!

One response to “The Cukelicious Three Muscuketeers!

  1. Pingback: Our Tomatoes: The Early AND Late Girls! « Random Snippets & Apertures

Leave a Reply

