FaceTime: A New Way to Stay Close

The brothers keep in touch.

“Can I use your phone?” my #2 son asked. “I want your #1 son to see something on the iMac.”

No problem!

When the iPhone 4 was announced earlier this year, one particular feature caught my eye: FaceTime. With my older son about to leave for college, I was intrigued by the possibility of video chatting with him via wifi if we both had iPhone 4s. We scored the new phone in June, but we have never used FaceTime.

My older son returns . . . on the iPhone 4 screen.

Now my younger son wanted to communicate with his older brother and also let him see a video he was making in iMovie. FaceTime to the rescue! Suddenly, my beloved, blue-eyed #1 boy was back in our house . . . albeit temporarily and in nonhuggable form.

The brothers having fun together again

Hey, I’ll take what I can get!

There’s my handsome lad!

#2 has been borrowing my iPhone 4 almost nightly now. It’s great that anywhere in the house, the two of them can talk face to face and stay in touch.

How I miss that rare smile!

And even though it’s hard to see on the screen that his eyes are blue, it’s great for my soul that I can catch glimpses of my #1 son every now and then. FaceTime definitely is the next best thing to being there.

4 responses to “FaceTime: A New Way to Stay Close

  1. Wow! That is the biggest smile I’ve ever seen on #2’s face. Those two are really close. You did something very right with those boys, Mom. What a blessing that relationship is to them and to you and your husband.

  2. I have to agree. Facetime is the greatest app. I love seeing how it is an additional tool in keeping your family so close!

Leave a Reply

