Brotherly Bond Among the Wildflowers

My younger son tees off.

Remember that San Antonio mission trip we took at the beginning of spring break before we headed home to Houston?

Driving through a couple trees.

Of course, we had to make a slight detour along the way. Once again, we stopped in the little, historic town of Gonzales so my guys could score a nine-hole disc golf fix.

The brothers confer.

At first, my shaggy-haired collegian just wanted to stay in the car while his dad and younger brother played. Then, suddenly, he decided it was too beautiful a day not to have fun (or could it have been that he was out of reading material?). Hey, the more the merrier!

The older putts “to” the younger.

What was special to me, besides how well my older son played despite his rustiness, was witnessing their wonderful brotherly bond. Not only was my younger son eager to help his big bubba, bubbling over with helpful advice, but my #1 son really listened and showed so much respect for his kid brother that the tears in my eyes almost made it hard to snap photos.

#2 shows how to sink a short putt.

Years ago when my sons were little, I fervently hoped that they would get along. Oh, I knew they would fight and bicker like all siblings do. But I so wanted them to be close. When you’ve got brothers who are best friends and are able to have fun during a round of disc golf when one is vastly better than the other, then you know you’ve hit the jackpot as a parent.

A gorgeous magenta wildflower

I am so grateful that our short side trip to Gonzales reminded me how beautiful the bond between brothers can be.

Love those bluebonnets!

That it happened amid a bunch of wonderful wildflowers? Icing on the cake!

Leave a Reply

