Sunflowers and More

A bunch of sunflowers grow near a neighboring community’s lake.

Few flowers make me smile when I see them as much as sunflowers.

The promise of a future sunflower looks intriguing.

It could be because yellow is one of my favorite colors. But it’s really because they look so friendly.

Good morning!

As I was walking through our neighboring community recently, I was thrilled to see several patches of sunflowers along the bike path. I couldn’t wait to return with my digital SLR to snap photos of them.

The view behind the sunflowers also is fascinating.

Of course, I knew that I wouldn’t just snap pix of sunflowers.

A cattail lives close to the lake.

When I was walking along the lake earlier in the year, I was saddened by the lack of vegetation due to a freeze.

A bee grabs pollen from a purple lake plant.

Fortunately, that was only temporary. Now the reeds and plants have grown back along the lake’s banks. And you know what else has returned to the body of water?

A red dragonfly flies above his blue brethren.

Dragonflies!

A blue dragonfly tries to blend in.

Always a challenge to photograph, you know I’m looking forward to clicking lots of pix of my favorite flyers.

A fly takes front and center on a flower.

This kind of fly? Not so much.

5 responses to “Sunflowers and More

  1. I have never seen a sunflower all folded up like that–it is intriguing! I like the picture of the closed and open one together–great contrast!

    Big Sister

  2. i always thought those were black eyed susans… learn something new every day!

  3. Your “purple lake plant” looks as if it’s pickerelweed, Pontederia cordata.

    Like you, I’ve been intrigued by sunflowers, including their buds and the view of the flowers from the back—and everything else about them.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/06/11/sunflower-colony/

Leave a Reply

