Another Reason to Love Chipotle

Chipotle means home to me.

About a week ago I was sitting in my local Chipotle (aka the best restaurant ever) enjoying the same veggie bowl that I typically eat there twice a week. Suddenly, Amber, the manager, pulled up the chair across from me and held up a square envelope.

“Because you’re our best customer, we’ve selected you to be the first person from our store to be invited to join Chipotle’s Farm Team,” she said.

“Farm Team?” I asked. All I could think of was how woeful the Houston L’Astros’ minors are; did I really want to be a part of that problem?

“It’s online, and it sounds like fun,” Amber assured me.

The fateful invitation

So I opened the envelope and took out what was inside. It was a slightly fawning invitation (“brightest and most loyal customers”? You mean I’m not the only one?!?) with information about where to log on to start the adventure. Once I got back home, I did.

The Farm Team is an interactive way to learn more about the foods we eat.

Chipotle’s motto is “food with integrity.” They try to buy their produce locally (as organic as possible), and they use meats naturally raised without antibiotics or added hormones, if possible. All I know is the food always tastes fresh and great; I’ve never been disappointed.

Sidebar: I’ve only eaten veggie bowls at Chipotle, so I can’t vouch for how the meats taste. The yummy guacamole is free when you go meatless!

So far I’m working through Chapter 1 on the Farm Team. As I click on the exclamation marks, question marks, and video and poll icons, I’m learning a lot of fascinating facts about sustainable farming. For example, did you know that pigs on most industrial farms never go outdoors? Chipotle won’t work with those kinds of suppliers.

Here’s an interesting bit of info: Chipotle uses 97,000 pounds of avocados every day! I guess I’m not the only one who loves their guacamole.

Perhaps the best part of being on the Farm Team is the swag. A gift card for a free burrito or bowl came in the invitation, and so far I’ve earned a Chipotle t-shirt. I can’t wait to see what lies ahead as I complete all four chapters.

It definitely pays to be the mayor of my local Chipotle!

10 responses to “Another Reason to Love Chipotle

  1. Clearly, I should be lunching with you! Celebrity status!
    Although, very unfortunately, I cannot eat avocados……..I need to check out what they have that I CAN eat! Cheers!

  2. Yes, I was thrilled when I finally discovered Chipolte’s. I really think they are changing things with their commitment to buy local, organic and non-feedlot raised animals. They’ve added more such food to their basics as the price allows. I wish they would go with brown rice, too! It’s so much better for you. I, too, only eat the veggie bowls.

  3. I third the brown rice motion. Actually, I heard they’re testing it out @ Colorado locations and will soon expand it. Can’t wait!

  4. Hey, have you ventured any further through the steps? I used to eat at Chipotle every single day even though it was 15 minutes out of my way (the most loyal customer in all of New York most likely haha). I am aware of somebody earning a free-burritos-for-a-year card (I’m assuming it was part of the rewards program on the Farm Team, but he mentioned it was because he repeatedly ate at the same location). The card has the man’s name and says it is his “custom made, hand-crafted, responsibly raised, sustainably grown burrito card”. Did you receive one of those?

    • The most-loyal customer in all of Texas meets the most-loyal customer in all of New York! I never received such a card, darn it! I’d love to eat free at Chipotle!! I did finish the Farm Team, but I only earned the one free burrito and a t-shirt. Kinda disappointing. But I did learn a lot about sustainable farming.

Leave a Reply

