Random Still Lifes

An overturned canoe waits for passengers along a nearby lake.

My iPhone 4S came in handy for snapping a couple photos last Sunday. Both remind me of still life paintings . . . not that either will be hanging in an art museum any time soon.

When I saw the canoe resting by the lake during my morning jog, I felt compelled to document it. It sure looked lonely.

It’s hard for the Mister to hide in an empty theater!

Later that morning, the Mister and I went to see “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close.” When we got to the theater and saw more cars than usual at 10:15 a.m., he became anxious, believing that all the people were there to see the same movie (we try to avoid crowds; that’s one reason we go to morning matinees . . . well, that and being cheap, of course).

As you can see, he was wrong. As I laughingly took the photo, I couldn’t help but compare the Mister to that old, battered canoe. Both of them seemed so isolated and in need of companionship.

The canoe will have to wait for its passengers. The Mister? He had me . . . and eventually about 10 other people scattered around the theater.

2 responses to “Random Still Lifes

  1. This was a precious blog post Susan!
    How sweet and thoughtful…”The Mister and canoe”
    Priceless:-)

Leave a Reply

