UTSA’s Wildflowers Wow Me

Photos don’t do the wildflowers justice! It’s best to see them in person.

When I decided to make a solo, one-day visit to see my older son in San Antonio last Saturday, I had four goals in mind.

Phlox show off their purpleness.

The first, of course, was to see my handsome collegian at the University of Texas at San Antonio. Even though he had been home a mere week ago during spring break, I never turn down the chance to spend time with my blue-eyed boy.

Here’s more purple!

Second, we both read “The Hunger Games” a month ago and wanted to see the movie together. It’s so much easier discussing the pros and cons of the film with someone who also enjoyed the novel.

Bluebonnets and lily-like wildflowers go together.

Third, we wanted to check out off-campus housing for the fall. Even though we weren’t able to tour our first choice, we saw it from outside and liked it. Good-bye, dorm!

A small bee flies near a coreopsis.

And, finally, I figured that Texas’ recent abundant rains had produced a bountiful crop of wildflowers. I hoped my Nikon 105mm macro lens would get a workout.

A bokeh’d Indian blanket background surrounds a lone bluebonnet.

Which, of course, it did! After I dropped my son back at his dorm in the early afternoon, I was curious to see what kinds of wildflowers were blooming on the UTSA campus.

A bee enjoys an Indian blanket.

Along a road behind the dorms, the grounds were bursting with beauty! Indian blankets, bluebonnets, coreopsis, and more fought for my lens’ attention.

Which Indian blanket will the bee pick?

Naturally, something else mirrored my wildflower love: Those darned, stinkin’ bees. As always, I moved in as close as possible, shot fast, and quickly walked away before the little buzzers could target me.

Thistle pollen covers a bee.

After about a half hour, I was ready to continue my drive back to Houston, where more of my state’s natural beauty distracted me until I just had to stop and shoot.

Which I’ll share in Thursday’s blog!

Leave a Reply

