“Prometheus”: Meh

Ready to meet your maker?

Confession time: I’ve never seen any of the “Alien” movies. Gory, scary science-fiction movies aren’t my cup of Diet Coke. So, naturally, my #1 son just assumed that only he and the Mister (little bubba was asleep) would be watching “Prometheus.” Seeing me climb into the Honda Odyssey on the way to the theater was his first surprise.

The second? That good, old, cheap mom opted for the mucho dinero IMAX  3D version of a potentially gory, scary sci-fi flick. Even though I do so love that $5 or $6 early matinee, I decided to blow the monthly movie budget on the IMAX solely because our friend Eric touted it so highly.

As usual, our disc golf buddy was right. It’s the perfect way to view big special-effects movies like “Prometheus.” Even if they wind up being sillier than scary (well, at least to me).

Dr. Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) is a true believer . . . in God and aliens.

“Prometheus,” directed by Ridley Scott, is purported to be a prequel to “Alien.” Which is weird, because the ending definitely sets up a sequel . . . which is not “Alien,” it seems.

Here’s the iMDb storyline: A team of explorers discovers a clue to the origins of mankind on Earth, leading them on a journey to the darkest corners of the universe. There they must fight a terrifying battle to save the future of the human race. Woooooo!

Terrifying? Didn’t seem like it to me.

David’s got the whole world in his hand.

Helping these humans is none other than a robot named David (Michael Fassbender). What happens to him near the end really had me giggling.

In these kinds of films, it’s always fun to figure out who will live and who will die. Scientists, explorers, whatever . . . someone’s got to kick the old astral bucket. The death count did surprise me. But other things had me rolling my eyes, especially the do-it-yourself c-section (I’m a veteran of two of them, fortunately, though, both performed by my obstetrician). Pretty bizarre stuff.

The IMAX 3D totally saved “Prometheus” for me. See it in the theater if this is your kind of genre. Otherwise, it’s Netflixable.

Leave a Reply

