The Natural Side of Disc Golf

A disc communes with cacti.

Because I’m a photographer, disc golf is more than just a sport to me.

Beautiful purple flowers make their presence known.

Although I love documenting my younger son playing, I’m thankful there usually are distractions that make me glad I’m using my Nikon 105mm macro lens.

I don’t want to know what these cicadas were doing before exiting their shells.

When the guys played at the Roy G. Guerrero disc golf course recently in Austin, the 105 got a workout shooting drives and putts as well as plenty of nature. The course features lots of trees, a bunch of exoskeletons hanging off leaves, and a few wildflowers.

Several butterflies try to blend in with a tree.

We saw lots of non-colorful butterflies.

I see you!

Most were on the trees.

Large and in charge among the wood chips

While some rested on the ground trying not to get hit by flying discs.

A green bee on a thistle

Among those few wildflowers were beautiful thistles. This one attracted a green bee (I had never seen one before).

A skipper on a thistle

Skippers also liked the purple hues.

Skippers and thistles go together.

I came away from the course with an appreciation for all it had to offer . . . in terms of disc golf and nature!

Leave a Reply

