Moving forward!

First things first: Did I get ’er done yesterday? Sure did!
• Got those four photos uploaded to the neighborhood newsletter. Not my best work because the lights in the school’s gyms cycle frequently causing odd color shifts. Over the two-week winter break I also met my goal of processing all the girls’ and boys’ basketball photos I had taken (includes A and B teams for both seventh and eighth grade) and posting them to my photo website (susansternberg.smugmug.com). A BIG accomplishment for me given my sloooow Photoshop workflow.
• Did one load of laundry and even matched up all the socks (but what about all the unmatched socks still languishing sadly on the dryer? Definitely a get ’er done in the future!).
• Shopped at Kroger’s and snagged the cornflakes (although they were the generic Kroger’s brand; the Mister said they tasted good, thankfully) as well as a few other items, most of them healthy.
• Watched “Oprah.” I liked what she had to say about having a balanced life. I also see my weight go in the wrong direction when my life gets out of whack.
• I planned the week’s meals to the best of my woeful cooking ability. The Mister and son #2 liked the barbecued pork that I baked for them; picky son #1 didn’t and mostly ate only his white rice and barbecue sauce (oy!) and biscuit with grape jelly.

Now on to today! Here’s what’s on the get ’er done menu:
• Redo the custom header in Photoshop because I don’t like how small the type is on the header that comes with this theme.
• Research wide-angle zoom lenses for my cousin Andi, who is a novice Nikon D300 user (she bought one, took it to Africa on a safari, and it looks like she took fabulous photos with it despite her inexperience using it).
• Pay the Discover and VISA bills online.
• Follow the Macworld expo keynote speech at 11 a.m. to see what Apple has in store for us Apple fans in 2009. I’m mostly interested in any changes (especially in price) to the MacBook, which will be my next purchase.
• Call Walmart to find out about their no-receipt exchange policy (son #1 desperately wants to know this information, not that he’s about to call and find out himself, of course; that’s what moms are for!).
• Work on getting rid of the clutter in the master bedroom. We’ve lived in our house for 12 years and haven’t painted or replaced the carpet in this bedroom. That builder’s-grade beige paint looks pretty faded. We can’t paint or replace the carpet until we clear out all the clutter, which includes our old (big!) entertainment center that used to live in the family room until it was replaced by a simple TV stand. The Mister, unfortunately, put it in our bedroom, and now all kinds of things have grown attached to it, none of which resembles a TV. So that, its attachments, and all kinds of miscellaneous items that haven’t seen the light of day outside of the boxes they reside in need to find another home or place.

I plan to concentrate on working on the bedroom for the next two days. Let’s see how much I get done!

Leave a Reply

