Photo Friday

#33's backno face5102-8ga-goof

 When I’m not shaking my head at my ineptness and/or slow reflexes, I must admit that I get a chuckle at some of my photo goofs. Of course, I might not think they were so funny if I wasn’t getting some decent photos along the way.

Since I had already turned in my middle school basketball photos to the yearbook staff, I mainly wanted to concentrate on taking good photos of two players whose moms have bought pictures from me in the past. Those two eighth-graders are pictured above . . . in photos that will never sell. Faces, got to see faces! What’s especially amusing about the middle photo is that both boys are pictured, not that you really can tell.

#33 back

Here’s another favorite from last night . . . no faces shown on either player! The photo is in focus and well-composed, but its only purpose is to show how not to take a good action shot. Fortunately, I’m through with indoor sports photography for the middle school; track is so much easier. And that will start in a couple weeks!

Daily iPod Touch update

pandoraThe news is good! #1 son finished putting all his songs on the Touch and actually ejected it from the iMac and used it. The news is mixed! What he was listening to was Pandora.com, his favorite internet radio station that’s a free application. I reminded him that he can only listen to it in a hot spot; otherwise, he’s “stuck” with his mere collection of a couple thousand songs. That kind of disappointed him.

I have a hard time listening to music and working at the computer. This inability to multitask must be part of my masculine side. Like most women, I’m used to multitasking in order to stay on top of things. I can watch TV and prepare meals and/or do laundry and/or read and/or surf the internet. The Mister’s idea of multitasking is watching TV and eating and/or using the remote (and he’s not all that savvy with the remote).

MacBook antiglare film update

nushield-logoI went to the Apple store and checked out the antiglare screen protector that they have. It’s $34.95! I wasn’t planning on spending more than $20, so I said no thank you to the helpful salesperson and went home to see what other MacBook users recommended. The one that was mentioned most in a positive way was NuShield. The cost was $17.99 plus $4.99 for shipping. I’ll give it a full review once it arrives and is applied.

Get ’er dones

As I’ve typed, I’ve burned a disk for my friend Ann, who I’m having lunch with. I had Photoshopped some iPhone photos of her son for her, and she wanted them on a CD. Mission accomplished!

My other major task today is to go through all my receipts and figure out what my expenses have been for my photography and graphic design mini-businesses last year. Romeo, our accountant who is responsible for handling our personal taxes as well as those for our business, called and said he’d like me to get on task sooner than later. He knows as well as I do that I’m an April 10th kind of gal (does this come as any surprise?), but I’m going to get cracking on this task. Of course, the receipts aren’t in any organized fashion, but the good news is I know where they all are (in a neat stack). I tell myself every April that I need to use something like Quick Books to organize my receipts, but 12 months later I’m back looking through the big stack.

Could be a get ’er done for the future!

3 responses to “Photo Friday

  1. Whew! I don’t see how you can call yourself a procrastinator! Just reading about all the things you do is making this Lazy Mom so tired! I loved reading your opinion and thought on the macbook. I am considering buying one for my own personal use (current laptop is a family computer). With Lazy Moms starting to take off I know I’ll be spending more time on the computer and will possibly need to travel with it as well. I’m interested to know what you think of the non-glare screen protector etc. I have one on my iPhone and love it. Can’t wait to see your before and after Ten Minute Task pictures. Let me know when you post them and I’ll either post them as well (with your permission) or link to your site.
    http://www.lazymoms.com

    Leslie: Knowing my pictures or link will be on your site will give me that extra push I might need to conquer the Ten-Minute Task! The MacBook definitely rocks; I love it! And I’m sure I’ll love it more with the non-glare screen protector; can’t wait to get it!

  2. Congrats to your son on his division win! I LOVE the pizookie! I do try to stay away from it though as I have NO self control and will eat the entire thing!

    • Leslie: The Mister was complaining that #2 was trying to eat the whole thing when they were supposed to be sharing. Looks like he has no self control, too!

Leave a Reply

