Seeing the World Better Through Tinted Lenses

Having contacts actually makes the #1 son smile!

Having contacts actually makes the #1 son smile!

When the #1 son was born on that wonderful day in February of 1992, I immediately noticed one thing: He had beautiful blue eyes.

But I remembered reading an entry into the family baby book by my mother when my second-oldest sister was born noting that she had blue eyes at birth. Alas, her eyes eventually reverted to the nondescript brown color all four of us have. So I wondered if #1 truly would have blue eyes.

Sidebar: I always laugh when I think of the family baby book. My mom kept track of all the important milestones with my oldest sister. When the temporarily blue-eyed #2 sister came along two years later, Mom managed to note important events for several pages. After 16 months I appeared and earned a page. As for baby brother, now the hot-shot Chicago lawyer, who was born almost three years after me? Only his birth is noted. Mom was tuckered out by then!

Trying to get the contacts in was frustrating at first.

Trying to get the contacts in was frustrating at first.

When the #1 son, who has worn glasses since fourth grade, told me he wanted to give contacts a try, I recalled when he said that a couple years ago. Back then he put a contact lens up to his eye, cringed, and said, “No way!” Had he gained the necessary patience to be successful? I had my doubts.

And then I remembered how much I wanted contacts when I was 15 years old, and how they had more positively changed the way I viewed myself (those ugly white glasses never did a thing for me!). If he was willing, so was I!

Sidebar: My contacts back in high school were the hard lenses that would take me forever to get in yet would pop out when you least expected them to (and when it was least convenient). I would listen to the entire “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme” album by Simon and Garfunkel on my beloved suitcase record player while struggling with my contacts in the morning when I first got them. Album? Record player?!? Makes me feel absolutely ancient when I think back on those days.

The optician checks out the contact on #1's eye.

The optician checks out the contact on #1's eye.

After his yearly eye appointment showed his vision remained the same, we spent some time with the optician. But it was short-lived, because #1 once again was frustrated at his inability to get the soft contacts on his eyes. He declared that it was impossible to put them in; he would never be able to do it. So we walked out.

But surprise surprise! #1 still wanted contacts, so I made him another appointment.

Are you lookin’ at me?

Are you lookin’ at me?

The second time was the charm! It took awhile, but I was finally looking at the #1 son’s beautiful blue eyes unfettered by glasses once again. Heartthrob? Let’s see what those high school senior girls think!

Sidebar: The #2 son has gorgeous green eyes. Kind of like the Mister, whose eyes change from green to gray depending on what he’s wearing.

No glasses takes some getting used to . . . by mom!

No glasses takes some getting used to . . . by mom!

#1 has become almost a pro at putting in and taking out the soft lenses after five days. I think he has amazed himself! I’m really proud of him for making a decision and sticking to it.

It helps that his top reason for wanting contacts was because he wanted to wear sunglasses.

"I'll be back!"

"I'll be back!"

The Terminator never looked this cool!

Leave a Reply

