UTSA’s Wildflower Side and More

Little blue flowers bloom on campus.

Every time I travel, I have to make a big decision: Which camera lenses to take. Even though we were traveling by car to the University of Texas at San Antonio for orientation last week, I didn’t want to tote a heavy load around campus. Which meant I reluctantly left my beloved Nikon D700 and Nikon 105mm lens at home, because both can be tough on the biceps after a few hours.

Little purple flowers dot the bushes.

Instead, I opted for my Nikon D300 and Nikon 17-55mm lens. Although not as light as a point and shoot, this combination is great for all-around photography and so superior indoors.

Little reddish flowers brighten up the landscaping.

Of course, I knew the minute I didn’t pack my 105 that there would be great flowers to photograph on campus. And I was right!

Purple petunias blow their “horns.”

Beautiful buds bloomed everywhere I walked, it seemed. Mocking me, of course, because I didn’t have my macro champ.

A butterfly adds an orange glow to the greenery.

But I discovered that the D300 and 17-55 were up for the challenge!

Love these Indian blankets!

As we got close to my #1 son’s dorm, I noticed an area alive with wildflowers. I was in shutter-snapping heaven!

Sunflowers always make me smile.

Because the D300 has a crop factor that acts like a zoom (unlike the full-framed D700), I was able to get up close and personal with the flora despite my maximum lens length of 55mm.

These look like little sunflowers.

If you look closely on the top right, you’ll see that the combo even did a great job capturing some of the local wildlife.

This bee was busy.

I’d say the D300 and 17-55 were the bee’s knees!

2 responses to “UTSA’s Wildflower Side and More

  1. I love the sunflower image with the blue background. Nat

Leave a Reply

