Going Steady

Love those wings!

As much as I’ve liked all my recent dragonfly photos, I knew I needed to be steadier to get better clarity.

I can’t get enough of these shimmery wings!

I’ve scored my best, close-up results with my Nikon D300, Nikon 70-200mm lens, and Nikon 1.7x teleconverter. But that’s a heavy combination, and it’s hard to deliver crisp pix hand-holding that load even with a fast shutter speed.

The wings look good at every angle.

I tried using my monopod that is my mainstay for outdoor sports photography with my long lens. But one leg isn’t steady enough.

It’s Li’l Blue D-Fly!

That meant I needed to pull out my tripod, which is reserved for camcorder duty. It’s the perfect solution for having a steady camera.

There’s the face I’ve grown to love!

There was just one problem: I didn’t have a ball head for it, only a pan-tilt head. Which meant that I couldn’t mount my camera on the tripod so that it could move up, down, and around. So I ordered an inexpensive ball head from amazon.com and used it for these photos. I still need to get a better plate for it, because the one it came with doesn’t anchor tightly enough. But I think the ball head-tripod combo made a big difference in the quality of my photos of Li’l Blue D-Fly.

Hello, gorgeous!

I think I’m really going to like going steady!

9 responses to “Going Steady

  1. these are great shots! The dragonfly makes for a wonderful photoshoot.

  2. Most of the Dragonflies that I’ve come across are very skittish around me 🙂
    This is a nice selection, I really have to start lugging my tripod around, I agree with you that handheld is probably not the best way to get certain shots 🙂
    Keep Shooting Susan!

  3. I still haven’t found any up here yet. I’m hunting. The detail on them is so amazing. great photos!!

  4. I can’t believe you’ve pulled even more detail out of those critters. I wouldn’t have thought it possible. We’ll be calling you Steady Betty.

  5. Pingback: Last Gasps of D-fly Glory | Random Snippets & Apertures

  6. Pingback: New Nature Discoveries | Random Snippets & Apertures

Leave a Reply

