Before and After: Corralling Stuffed Animals

It’s cute, but it’s still clutter.

This is the before scene of my new math approach to dealing with clutter. Take one large pile of cute stuffed animals left behind in my #1 son’s bedroom when he left for college.

New corrals for the animals

Add three containers that really are laundry hampers. Also use one big wicker basket and one smaller orange receptacle already in my older son’s room.

Then add about 10 minutes of work, which includes vacuuming where the large pile had been. Add them all up. What’s the solution?

This looks so much neater!

An end to the clutter! You’ve successfully corralled all the animals! Yeehaw!

Oh, and as a bonus, add seven to the answer.

A pair of the Mister’s socks plus six orphans belonging to my #2 son

Because that’s the amount of dirty socks found among the animals. Which then were put in a real laundry hamper!

7 responses to “Before and After: Corralling Stuffed Animals

  1. EWWW! I wonder how long those socks have been there? But how much do I love that he still had all of his stuffed animals in his room!!!

    • My younger son wears socks to bed and then kicks them off during the night. I also wondered at the length of time these had been archived. As for the stuffed animals, each one tells its own story about how it was obtained and how much it’s been loved.

  2. they’re all cute but do you know how contaminated those stuffed animals get over time? Hate to say this but they are probably filled with dust mites and who knows what else. Just wanted to pass that along – I know they are hard to get rid of emotionally, but it might not be a bad idea to reduce the volume a little (geesh I sound like a nurse and a mom with a kid who had allergies)

  3. one other thought – I so relate to CJ and the sock thing, at least in the winter. I always end up with the socks on the floor at some point during the night

  4. actually you don’t have to play with them/touch them to be impacted but if Jake is an allergy free kid, may not be a big deal – not sure how many dust mites and mold spores it takes to impact the respiratory tract.
    I had to stop and think about the room change thing. I didn’t change Matt’s room but I moved to Indianapolis when Ryan was a freshman so I guess that ended me having bedrooms just for them. Wow that seems like a long time ago.

Leave a Reply

