An Open Letter to Harlan Coben

 

Harlan

Dear Mr. Coben:

Do you never tire of grabbing me by the throat and tossing me into your vortex of compelling mystery thrillers? All your books that I’ve read (and thoroughly enjoyed) so far have forced me to follow the same pattern: Start reading the first paragraph and immediately become intrigued. Forget that you’ve hooked me on your line and are merely waiting for the right time to reel me in as I slowly but surely read on when I go out solo for lunch. Finally, with mere chapters left, cause me to drop everything to read without stopping until I finish.

“No Second Chance”

This just happened to me with “No Second Chance,” which had me in tears near the end. I doubt that any other author sends his/her readers’ emotions on a roller-coaster ride quite like you. You are the master of twists, turns, and even more twists and turns . . . as well as of the satisfying ending. I almost feel exhausted when I finally close the book for good.

Even though I know what to expect, I’m diving in once again with “Tell No One,” which I’ll begin reading today. Start the roller coaster!

6 responses to “An Open Letter to Harlan Coben

  1. I will have to read one of his books – my current book has not been opened for a couple of weeks.

  2. Awesome letter. Hard for me to disagree. But I’m grateful as heck.

  3. Thanks, I never read one, but now I have to hunt them all down 🙂

    • I was lucky enough to have a friend loan me several of Harlan’s Myron Bolitar series; the rest I’ve scored at Half-Price Books. They’re such a compelling read! Keep me posted in case you do read one (I would recommend reading the Bolitar series first, although the stand-alones also are excellent).

Leave a Reply

