Still Not Quite There

Pathetic!

Brain to Susan. Brain to Susan: “Get it through your thick skull! The time of day does matter when it comes to capturing quality reflection photos. So try, try a third time!”

Perhaps I fear success. Maybe I’m just not very bright.

Yesterday I drove to the lake in our neighboring master-planned community to try to score a great fall reflection photo for the second straight day, and once again I failed because I was too late (around 10:30 a.m.). Woe is me!

A white egret contemplates the meaning of life . . . or bugs.

Then again, if I had been at the lake earlier, maybe I wouldn’t have snagged these wonderful photos.

The long beak is great for hunting insects.

Perhaps these birds would’ve still been asleep.

Pretty purple flowers stick out among the reeds.

Maybe the purple flowers would’ve looked muted instead of vibrant. And most important . . . .

Red dragonfly #1 eyes me warily.

Perhaps some of the red dragonflies I saw playing among the reeds might not have posed for me.

A much-friendlier red dragonfly #2 seems to smile at me.

Imagine how excited I was that I not only saw red dragonflies, but that a couple of them stopped to rest within the range of my Nikon D300 and Nikon 70-200mm lens. I got as close as I could and happily snapped away.

Until Thug D-fly decided to get up into my grille and buzz around me aggressively, clearly sending me a message (while scaring the bejeezus out of me!).

Now that I think about it, maybe it would’ve been better if I had been on time, and the dragonflies had stayed away!

9 responses to “Still Not Quite There

  1. I love the egret and dragonflies!

  2. The purple flower is pickerlweed (Pontederia cordata). The flowers will turn into nut-like seeds later (they did this long ago up here in New Hampshire- don’t know when they do it where you are). When they do turn to seeds, you can strip a handful off the stem and pop them into your mouth – they are a lot like granola.

  3. If at first you don’t succeed…
    You certainly make the most of each outing.

  4. Love the Purple flowers and the Egret! nice work Susan.

  5. Great Egret!

Leave a Reply

