Cozy Black Friday

Furby: Not very cute but very much in demand in 1998

Did anyone get up early and stand in line to score some great Black Friday deals?

Not me! I stayed cozy and warm as the temperature dropped 40 degrees overnight from yesterday’s high of 82. Plus it’s been raining this morning. Nothing seemed worth the effort.

I haven’t shivered in a post-Thanksgiving Day queue since 1998 when I wanted to buy a Furby, that ugly, electronic, must-have toy. I did get one, but it never left the box in our house.

A much-cuter Humphrey Beanie Buddy

The Furby merely was a means to an end: I traded it for an equally in-demand Humphrey Beanie Buddy. Both parties walked away very satisfied.

Of course, I do have to go shopping today or tomorrow, because Chanukah has the nerve to start Wednesday, December 1st (the first night). My older son will return to college Sunday, and I’d like him to be able to take his gifts with him (to be opened on the proper nights as listed on the wrapping paper).

Think I’ll wait until the last possible minute before leaving the house!

Thanksgiving Fun

Will good (Harry Potter) triumph vs. evil (Voldemort)?

We finally saw “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1” yesterday morning. I loved it! It stayed fairly true to the book and was filled with action and passion. The scenery was spectacular! Totally unexpected. I also liked that amid all the drama, it was so lighthearted. The audience cracked up so many times.

Fair warning, though: If you haven’t read the book, don’t expect to understand everything. The Mister was lucky that he had me to whisper explanations in his ear.

Baby Dillon watches TV with his Uncle Daniel.

In the afternoon we drove to my brother-in-law Mike’s house for our Thanksgiving meal. My sister-in-law Paula is a great cook, and it’s always fun to spend time with them, their kids Melissa (and her boyfriend Andy) and Daniel, and the Mister’s sister, Carol.

Grandpa Mike and Dillon watch a football game together.

And who could resist baby Dillon, who is almost five months old? He’s so cute and so aware of everything going on around him. He’s going to make holiday gatherings fun for years to come!

“Stop bothering me, Mom!”

This one? Not so much!

4 responses to “Cozy Black Friday

  1. I’m totally with you. It’s almost 1:30 and I haven’t left the house yet. I’m not sure that I will. My sister scored some huge bargains by getting up early. I just don’t have it in me.
    I’m so glad you had a nice Thanksgiving. It’s all about family.

  2. Wish we had Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

