Back Down to Earth

I don’t think my #1 son will care about the unusual Chanukah gift wrap.

I’ve had such a hard time getting started this morning! But with the house finally quiet with my older son back at college and my younger son back to the high school grind, I can think again.

There are a couple thoughts rambling around in my head:

• This is the first Chanukah we’ll celebrate without my older son. I don’t think it’ll really hit me until the first night on Wednesday. Of course, that meant early shopping and having most of his gifts (some are digital, and some still need to be delivered . . . oops!) wrapped and ready for him to take back with him.

With the Chanukah gift wrap safe and warm up in the attic, I improvised and used a Fry’s newspaper ad and envelopes. Hey, it’s the thought that counts!

My #1 son actually talks to us during lunch at a favorite restaurant.

• It was wonderful having my older son home for the Thanksgiving break! It seemed like he and his younger brother talked nonstop for a day or two. Plus my #2 son especially enjoyed having his brother’s friends visit; he’s missed them, too.

What my college freshman liked best about being home was eating at his favorite restaurants, which aren’t available to him (no car) at the University of Texas at San Antonio. The Mister and I spoiled him as much as we could, and now we’re going to miss him until he returns home in mid-December.

Especially during the eight nights of Chanukah.

Leave a Reply

