A Retrospective: The Chanukah Lights

A simple photo of a simple menorah setting on the first night of Chanukah

What do eight nights of Chanukah mean? Family time, presents, Skype . . . and the potential for too many boring photos of burning candles.

My #2 son lights the candles on the second night.

This Chanukah I pushed myself to change up my photo angles to see things in a different light (ha ha!).

My younger son puts the shamash back on night three as his Skyped brother watches.

Plus I tried my best to include my older son, who was Skyping with us from college, into pix with my younger son as he lit the menorah. That mostly was a lesson in proper-exposure futility.

The wax melts away on the fourth night.

On the fourth night, I snapped photos from below the menorah.

Fifth night candles stand side by side.

The next night I focused on shooting the candles lined up like waxy soldiers.

More lighting action by #2 on the sixth night

My favorite angle became one from the side as I took photos of my #2 son lighting the candles.

This candle soon met its waxy end on the seventh night.

But I also was intrigued by solo candles that dripped and drizzled until they finally ran out of wax to burn.

The glow from the eighth-night candles makes everything feel brighter.

Did I snap a bunch of boring photos this Chanukah? I was mostly satisfied with how I documented the menorah’s burning candles. Of course, for me, as long as nothing gets set on fire, I’d say our holiday was a blazing success!

One response to “A Retrospective: The Chanukah Lights

  1. Light is a wonderful metaphor for the spirit of God in this season. Nice shots!

Leave a Reply

