Wind-Swept Roses

Darn the wind and the rain!

At about 6:20 this morning, our power cycled off and then quickly came back on. I looked out the window and stared at the trees being whipped by the wind gusts and drenched by the sudden, short-lived downpour.

Today’s winter storm had announced itself to the Houston area in a noisy fashion.

Our rose bushes have lost most of their pink and red color.

After awhile I took the garbage to the curb and walked back to the house. I abruptly stopped, my eyes drawn to our formerly glorious Knock Out rose bushes. The majority of our blooming roses had met their untimely weather-related demise and now were mere petals among the mulch.

It was sad to think that all their beauty would be blown away due to the 24-mph wind we’re now dealing with, amid temperatures that have dropped from 69 degrees at 6 a.m. to a chilly 36 before noon. The expected low is a very unwelcome 22 degrees.

The wind is too fast for my shutter speed!

Another wind-related casualty? My ability to keep the few roses still hanging on in focus as I snapped photos in gusts that took my breath away! Stay warm and safe, my friends!

2 responses to “Wind-Swept Roses

  1. Headline: Knockout Roses Knocked Out by Houston Wind!!!!

Leave a Reply

