Bees, Ladybugs, and Bluebonnets

The wildflowers show off their beauty.

As much as I love bluebonnets, something likes them even more.

A bee’s wings whirr near a bluebonnet.

Bees! So I have to be very wary when I’m getting up close and personal with Texas’ state flower.

Notice something orange on the right side of the photo?

Earlier this month when I was snapping happily away at wildflowers in our neighboring master-planned community, I noticed another insect also loving the pretty blue flowers along with the bees.

A ladybug and bee coexist among the bluebonnets.

Ladybugs!

A ladybug feels right at home.

Three different times when I saw a bee, a ladybug was in close proximity. Which, of course, made it a little difficult for me to get a good photo . . . especially one time when a bee chased me away. I didn’t stick around to ask why it was being so protective of its orange friend.

But sometimes I was able to isolate a ladybug and feel grateful that it was harmless and wouldn’t mind the photographic attention. It was nice not having to worry about being stung.

Oh oh!

Ouch! Guess I was wrong. That’s not much of a “lady”bug at all!

4 responses to “Bees, Ladybugs, and Bluebonnets

  1. Love this post! Having grown up in Texas, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been stung while getting bluebonnet pics. 🙂

  2. Hey, we have these these things that look just like lady bugs but they aren’t. And you can tell the difference because they sting. Maybe they are the hybrid result of your bees and ladybugs comingling? A little bi-species breeding, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

