Photographically Bankrupt from Am Worlds

Shoe is a bad disc golf photo! (snapped by the #2 son)

When I made the decision not to attend last week’s Amateur Worlds Disc Golf Championships in Rochester, New York, opting instead to “chill” with my older son (as long as we’re indoors!), I knew what I was giving up.

Not being able to watch my younger son play and experience what was a memorable event for him was painful for me. I love cheering him on!

But even worse? Although I optimistically sent along the Olympus Stylus Tough 6000 point and shoot camera, I figured I wouldn’t get many photos so I could relive the event with both the Mister and our baby boy. Now I don’t expect the Mister to snap pics like I do, just like he doesn’t expect me to be able to build a custom box like he can. We have different strengths . . . and weaknesses.

I was merely hoping for 20 or 25 shots that would tell the tale of the five-day tournament. Those would have to be enough deposits in the Am Worlds photography bank to sustain me.

But to return to house and home with a skimpy 13 photos, nine of which are of boys who are not my beautiful green-eyed son? That’s just plain sad. Here are some of the pics that were taken by the pair (which includes that “wonderful” first photo of our boy’s shoe):

Eric is a blur.

I kinda like this pic of our good friend Eric teeing off. The blurry motion is pretty cool.

Our boy talks as Justin practices his putting.

Finally an action shot! Yay!! But it’s not our son who’s throwing the disc. Boo!

The final four (from left): Winner Kaj, Justin, my boy, and Andrew

When the Mister told me he had taken no photos during the six rounds preceding the finals, I begged him to at least snap one of our son with his three competitors, all of whom were in the finals.

Sidebar: Yep, my little big guy made the finals in the 16 and under division! He finished fourth out of 15 competitors; the three guys who beat him all were higher-rated. I’d be busting my buttons . . . if I wasn’t wearing the t-shirt he brought me back.

As you can see, the Mister obliged . . . not that our son deigned to actually look at the camera (He claims all the parents were taking photos, so he didn’t know where to look. Somehow I’ve failed him.).

My son putts during the finals.

As far as action shots are concerned, all that I have to cherish are several snapped by Eric with his Android phone. I’m thankful that he was there to add to the Mister’s meager collection.

If my younger son decides to compete in next year’s Am Worlds in North Carolina, I’m sure I’ll be there clicking away with my Nikon digital SLR. You can bank on it!

Leave a Reply

