Gingerly Returning Back to High School . . . For Now

For the first time in 12 years, I didn’t snap a photo of my younger son on his first day of school. He was just too anxious about returning for his high school junior year after his long absence, and I didn’t want to add to his stress. I figured I could bring out the big Nikon after classes.

Judging from how he reacted overnight and this morning, I’ve already started researching alternative ways for him to finish his high school degree. As much as I’d love for him to continue at our local high school, I don’t want him to be uncomfortable and miserable. If my square peg can’t fit into the round hole of public education, then we’ll find the square hole that suits him.

Thanks for all your good thoughts as my #2 son travels on his sometimes-difficult journey.

10 responses to “Gingerly Returning Back to High School . . . For Now

  1. I’m sorry I didn’t know about all of this……will be praying for his day, his week, and his year!
    suzanne

  2. You are a great mom with a great son. I had a tough time myself in the (mother)hood this weekend, so I can relate. Peace to both of you.

  3. Can coach Jim help with anything? We knew then what a talented athlete he would be some day! He’s gone beyond our expectations and is growing up to be a fine young man. The curve balls just need to quit coming his way for awhile! Thinking of you and sending positive thoughts your way.

    • Oh, how my kiddo loved coach Jim back in the day! Coach Jim was a god!! Unfortunately, I think he’s a little too far along for even Jim’s help; thanks so much for the offer, though. I really appreciate your support.

  4. EM,
    I am glad that you are getting that research in gear. I can’t believe that the school counselors can’t help you more. It is, also so hard to believe that they don’t have many different “high schools” within their district. Washington is NOT a well-funded educational state yet they seem to have many different high school programs –including my favorite, “a small high school within a large high school”. Love, Sis

  5. You tell CJ that Mama D is still with him. He needs to stick around for those awesome Nachos! I hope all goes well! I need to see my CJ at Stephen Austin High Schoool for only two more years! Yahoo! Good luck and God bless!

Leave a Reply

