Tiny Dancer

The logo we tried to match.

Does everyone hear Elton John in their heads? Sorry!

A couple days ago, my friend and former neighbor Kathy M. called and asked me to snap an action shot of a girl jumping. She was trying to emulate the form on the logo for her new dance studio, Dance du Coeur.

Jessie starts her jump.

When I agreed to give it a try, I had no idea that, first, my model truly would be a tiny dancer—petite Jessie is nine years old. And, second, that I’d only have about five minutes to try to get the perfect shot. Which is pretty much impossible for me when it comes to indoor lighting conditions. I need lots of time to fiddle, tweak, and wish I had more talent.

Not quite there.

But I had nothing to lose, so I snapped away.

That looks better!

And this was the best I could come up with. Which I don’t really think Kathy was looking for.

Jessie finishes with a smile.

But I sure had fun trying . . . and so did my tiny dancer!

2 responses to “Tiny Dancer

  1. EM,

    These are beautiful pictures! She seems so joyful! perhaps you have a career of dancing shots ahead of you!!

    FU

Leave a Reply

