“Warrior”: Ouch!

Which brother will you root for?

Seeing “Warrior” with the Mister yesterday was a no-brainer, because the man does love him some MMA (Mixed Martial Arts)! I was interested in seeing the movie, because I thought maybe it would be as good as “The Fighter.”

Sidebar: At first, I typed “Mixed Martian Arts.” Wouldn’t that be fun to watch?

Although well-acted, “Warrior” could be called “Brawler.” It’s definitely not in the same class as “The Fighter.” Not even close. But it is very violent; it had me cringing in my cushy theater seat.

Paddy Conlon (Nick Nolte) trains his son, Tommy Reardon (Tom Hardy).

“Warrior” is a dysfunctional-family film about two brothers (Brendan and Tommy) and their formerly alcoholic, abusive father, played by Nick Nolte. At first, I thought Nolte might have stumbled into an Oscar-nominated role, but he mumbles through his lines and sort of falls off near the end.

Which brother will win?

Brendan (Joel Edgerton), a high school physics teacher with a wife and kids, and Tommy (Tom Hardy), an ex-Marine with a secret, both fight in a big MMA tournament, with a winner-take-all prize of five million bucks. It’s not a spoiler (or a stretch, for that matter) to say that, of course, they end up in the finals together. When that happened, I whispered to the Mister, “I’m not sure who I’m rooting for.”

What I was rooting for was for the crescendoing music near the end to stop and quiet down! So loud and obnoxious!! I think we can figure out for ourselves when there’s a key moment without a musical cue, thanks.

“Warrior” is rated PG-13 for swearing and violence. I gave it three out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

