A Walk About Chicago

It’s pumpkin time!

While I was in the Chicago area this past weekend, my mom, her twin sister (Aunt G), and I visited my little brother (the hot-shot lawyer) and his wife in the big city. After brunch, we walked around their neighborhood to get a taste of the coming fall season. The temperature was in the mid-60s, which was just perfect for someone from way-too-hot Houston!

No one is out of their gourd with this selection.

First, we strolled down the street to check out a farmers’ market. There were plenty of fruits and veggies for sale.

This huge sunflower would give my local small guys an inferiority complex.

Some things were kinda unusual, like humongous sunflowers.

Purple power!

But other blossoms sure looked normal and purty.

A backyard yields an unusual-looking sculpture.

Once we’d had our fill of the market, we (along with pups Rootbeer and Scamp) meandered around the Lincoln Park neighborhood and headed into Old Town. When I was in high school in the late 1960s and early ’70s, Old Town was known for its hippies and head shops. I remember going there with some friends and buying “hippie beads.”

St. Michael gets a facelift.

This time, though, my baby bubba wanted to show us beautiful St. Michael Catholic Church, which is undergoing outside restoration in Old Town.

There’s plenty of room for lots of parishioners.

This was truly worth seeing! Even though the church was built in 1852, it’s gorgeous inside and looks well-maintained.

This is one of many stained-glass windows featuring someone not in my own bible.

Of course, our family isn’t one for churches, since we bat for the synagogue team. I’ve only been in those other houses of worship for weddings.

Baby bro, Mom, and Aunt G admire the altar.

But beauty is beauty, no matter whose religion it represents.

2 responses to “A Walk About Chicago

  1. Fascinating! I really like the pictures. I’m currently living in Chicago, but I haven’t been around Old Town very much, yet. I would like to visit that church. It really is beautiful inside!

    And you final statement is a very good one, I thought. Sometimes we can be blind to the natural beauty of something, regardless of what religion it might be a part of. After all, Muslim structures such as the Taj Mahal are definitely beautiful, even though I am anything but a muslim! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this!
    ~Messerve

Leave a Reply

