Movie Mania

Walter, Mary, and Gary travel to Hollywood.

During the long Thanksgiving weekend, we really gave our AMC Stubs card a workout. We saw four movies . . . but only one together. That one, “The Muppets,” was everyone’s favorite.

I especially liked seeing the Muppets together once again, because I have such great memories of the “Muppet Show,” which originally aired on TV in the late 1970s and early ’80s. So corny and cute! In the movie, the gang reunites to stop an evil oilman, Tex Richman (Chris Cooper), from tearing down the long-abandoned Muppet Theater to drill for oil.

Helping the Muppets are Walter, his brother Gary (Jason Segal), and Gary’s girlfriend Mary (Amy Adams), who live in Smalltown. Even though Walter and Gary are related, Walter is a muppet (genetics gone rogue!) who yearns to be part of the “Muppet Show.” Can dreams come true? As long as you can sing about them, they can!

Two thumbs up!

“The Descendants”

The King family: Dad Matt and daughters Alex and Scottie

While “The Muppets” was marvelous, “The Descendants,” which the Mister and I saw, was meh. Even though it starred my second husband, George Clooney, I didn’t enjoy this family drama. George plays Matt King, an emotionally absent husband and father, who has to step up the parenting when his wife suffers a severe injury in a boating accident.

As usual, the foul language turned me off, especially when it came from the girls playing Matt’s daughters, Shailene Woodley and Amara Miller. Really, Hollywood moguls, just because a movie is rated R doesn’t mean the f-bomb is necessary in the majority of its scenes. How about working on good plot and character development instead?

“The Descendants” definitely is Netflixable.

“Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1”

Bella and Edward pose for an unusual wedding portrait.

My final flick was “Breaking Dawn Part 1.” I’m an admitted Twihard, really enjoying the Stephenie Meyer’s books. For the fourth time, my older son accompanied me; he so enjoys making snarky remarks about the movie in my ear.

Meyer’s fourth book is divided into two movies, just like the final Harry Potter novel (although there truly is no comparison in terms of writing and filming). In Part 1, human Bella Swan (Kristen Stewart) and hunky vampire Edward Cullen (Robert Pattinson) get married and, amazingly, are able to consummate the deal. Which, of course, improbably results in Bella becoming pregnant with what could be a vampire child.

I truly enjoyed “Breaking Dawn,” despite the wooden acting of  Stewart and Pattinson. The last 20 minutes or so when Edward delivers his daughter and then tries to save Bella’s life had me on the edge of my seat . . . even though I knew what would happen. And the absolute final scene? Wow!

I was surprised to see so many young girls in the audience, by the way. “Breaking Dawn” definitely is not for young teens; the birth scene is too graphic. And be sure to stay for the credits, because there’s a creepy teaser for part two.

By the way, my guys saw “Jack and Jill,” with both my sons thinking it was a hoot and a half, while the Mister was mildly amused. Why did I stay home? Two words: Adam Sandler. Ugh!

4 responses to “Movie Mania

  1. great reviews! i am interested in your review on HUGO as well! heard it was phenom! i am a Scorcesse fan! TWILIGHT~Breaking Dawn was completely fulfilling the void we have had between films! I always see the Twilight films a few times….just to catch the dialogue i may have missed! Or is it just me wanting to view Edward Cullen again, and again and again!

  2. I just watched “The Muppets” the other day and I *loved* it! Amy Adams and Jason Segel did such a great job! And then… the muppets! It made me ecstatic seeing them all together again. Me and my parents laughed so hard through the entire movie! I just wish there was more Animal. 🙂

Leave a Reply

