“New Year’s Eve”: The Critics Blow It

“New Year’s Eve” features an all-star cast.

We almost didn’t see “New Year’s Eve” at our local AMC Theatre yesterday. That would have been a big mistake.

The critics panned this dramedy, saying it’s pathetic and not funny. Yes, it is pretty corny, thanks to feel-good director Garry Marshall (he also directed “Valentine’s Day,” which also featured lots of stars), and I could do without ever seeing Ashton Kutcher’s dour side again. But the Mister, our younger son, and I laughed a lot and really enjoyed the film.

Katherine Heigl and Jon Bon Jovi try to get their relationship back on track.

Any movie that features an ensemble cast of superstars like this one is bound to be pretty scattered with plotlines weaving all over the place . . . until the end. And I was bothered by several elements, which included Katherine Heigl’s awful dye job (she’s a natural blonde, but it looks like she was covering up the brunette from shooting “One for the Money”) and gorgeous Michelle Pfeiffer being totally miscast as a mousy secretary who has also-gorgeous Zac Efron help her complete her resolutions bucket list.

Sarah Jessica Parker talks to her daughter, played by Abigail Breslin.

But bugging shallow, catty me the most was Sarah Jessica Parker, who looks like a hag in the flick. Which wouldn’t be a problem except for the outcome of one of those pesky plotlines. I won’t spoil it, but I found it to be laughable and ridiculous. Sorry, SJP. No way, not any day.

“New Year’s Eve” is easily Netflixable but don’t avoid it if you’re looking for a light, breezy, and corny good time. Lea Michele, who plays Rachel on “Glee,” sings, which almost is worth the price of admission (especially at matinee prices).

And be sure to stay through the credits. The outtakes add to the fun.

4 responses to ““New Year’s Eve”: The Critics Blow It

  1. Good review. I was pleasantly surprised that I actually enjoyed myself with this flick, even though I do feel like Garry Marshall didn’t really try to do anything with all of these stars instead of just have them show up and do something. Still, a fun film that is a crowd-pleaser for sure. Check out my review when you get the chance.

  2. I have seen a few bad reviews on this movie… but I’m not big on taking other’s advice on movies. I don’t know if it’s that I have a higher tolerance for what others consider “poo” or if I am just easily amused, but I am sure I am going to enjoy this film 😛

    Thanks for sharing your review !!

Leave a Reply

