Breathe In, Breathe Out

My younger son’s desk chair awaits his return from school.

It’s quiet in my house this morning. My older son, who doesn’t start the spring semester at UTSA for two weeks, is sleeping. As for his younger brother, who has been my in-house buddy since his junior year began in late August (except for the first day)?

He’s back at his public high school! Breathe in, breathe out, mom. Breathe in, breathe out, baby boy.

I wouldn’t say he willingly returned, but he didn’t fight us. The Mister and I took him shopping for new clothes last night, trying to keep everything matter of fact. Even though we knew that walking into his high school today after missing a semester would be anything but matter of fact, anything but easy.

We are worried for him. We are worried with him.

The Mister and I both are on pins and needles, wondering if he’ll call. Hoping he doesn’t. Praying that when I pick him up this afternoon that he’ll have more positives to report than negatives.

Until then . . . breathe in, breathe out. And repeat.

4 responses to “Breathe In, Breathe Out

  1. I hope his first day went well…lots of prayers that he keeps it up!

  2. I, too, pray he makes it back this week!

Leave a Reply

