Achieving Disc Golf Photography Goals

My #2 son lasers in a putt.

When I shoot a big disc golf tournament like last weekend’s Texas State Championship, I keep several goals in mind. The first? Always get a few good pics of my younger son. You never know when colleges will start doling out disc golf scholarships, asking for visual proof of expertise.

That probably will happen right after I win the Mrs. America title.

Eric shows off his perfect putting balance.

Next, I try to snap good photos of our friends.

Glen’s cap is so stylish!

Could be they’ll need pix for their scrapbooks.

Will Casey’s jump putt be successful?

After that, I look for compelling shots that will help tell the story of the tournament, which was held at Tom Bass Park in Houston.

Jimmy keeps his eyes on the prize.

I used my Nikon 70-200mm lens with a Nikon 1.4x teleconverter so I could really zoom in on the action.

Open women’s winner Valarie tees off.

Finally, I wanted to snag some strong shots of the pros for “Disc Golfer” magazine. In the women’s competition, Valarie Jenkins had a huge lead, so it was easy to concentrate on her.

Catrina putts.

I did need to take photos of Catrina Allen, too, because the Mister thinks she’s cute.

My favorite photo: Paul putting

The open men’s competition was nip and tuck, with the lead changing constantly. I’ll admit I was rooting for Paul Ulibarri, because this pic of him would look sweet on a magazine cover.

Cale tees off.

But in the end it came down to Cale Leiviska canning a putt on the final hole to win by one stroke over Will Schusterick. It was so exciting!

After the tourney, I felt I had achieved all my goals. And Cale?

The champ!

He walked away happy, too!

Leave a Reply

