Hit and Miss

Even the sign looks pretty.

The Mister and I made the three-hour drive Saturday to Austin to visit the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. It was my vision of paradise!

Sidebar: My vision, not my sons’. They both laughed when we suggested they come with us (we could’ve picked up my older son at UTSA with a slight detour), both separately telling us to “have fun.” I guess that’s when you know you’re getting old.

A butterfly stares from a pink coneflower.

After snapping away at gorgeous wildflowers and things that flew around them for several hours, I came away with one conclusion.

Another butterfly stops to say howdy.

Although I was over the moon at some of my photo hits, like these two of butterflies that actually wanted to pose for me (which is such a rarity here in the Houston area) . . .

Missed it by that much!

. . . I’ll spend much more time lamenting the misses, like this one of a hummingbird that suddenly was attracted to some Wright’s penstemon I was standing by. I just couldn’t lock on it with my Nikon D700’s manual focus before it flitted away. Oh, how I so wanted a crisp, in-focus photo of that darned hummer!

If only it could’ve been cooperative like my other flying friends!

Leave a Reply

