Bucket List Check-off

Stay on the path!

Probably because I don’t like to travel outside my 10-mile radius, I don’t have a very long bucket list.

A pretty wildflower palette

But one prominent item on that list was a visit to the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin (despite the distance).

Almost every flower had an informative sign nearby.

I considered it to be the mecca for wildflower lovers/photographers. So it was a no-brainer to gather up my Nikon D700, Nikon 105mm macro lens, and the Mister and check it out . . . and then off.

Except when you really wanted to know what they were.

Lately the wildflowers that are close to us have been overrun with weeds. The bluebonnets no longer look vibrant, which is a shame.

Huisache hang around.

So it was refreshing to see flora being shown the respect and care they deserve.

Purple is a popular color for wildflowers.

It was easy to be overwhelmed when you’re surrounded with that much beauty. Could 300-plus photos possibly do the center justice?

Mealy blue sage

Fortunately, I won’t post all of them on my blog!

Giant spiderwort

But at the very least I do feel an obligation to give everyone a taste of what I saw while I was there.

A lovely iris

Hey, no need to thank me!

Blue curls

It’s interesting how supposedly blue wildflowers really tend more towards purple.

Tahoka daisy

There’s definitely nothing blue about this daisy!

Prairie fleabane look prettier than their name.

After several hours of walking around the grounds and snapping photos, I made an important decision:

Indian blanket

To put a return trip to the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center on my bucket list!

Leave a Reply

