Damselfly Visit

Here’s looking at you, kid!

The other day as I was walking to my Honda Pilot, which was parked in the driveway, a flash of blue along the walkway’s stones caught my eye.

It was a damselfly!

Showing off a side view

I immediately ran back into the house and grabbed my Nikon D300, which always has a Nikon 300mm lens (f/4) attached. I lamented the lack of dragonflies last summer after a plethora of the winged visitors the previous year. This wasn’t a d-fly, but it’s the next best thing!

Ugly in a cute way from any angle

I’ve never seen a damselfly this color before. What was especially nice was that it insisted on posing for me. It would fly up off the stones, hover, and then settle back down, well within reach of my camera lens.

This definitely was not a damsel(fly) in distress!

2 responses to “Damselfly Visit

  1. Trish Van Pilsum

    Those are amazing shots. The stuff of science magazines.

Leave a Reply

