Random Snippets and Apertures

My younger son warms up before a practice round at Tom Bass Park. (Nikon S6200)

Random photos . . . random thoughts.

I’m missing the kid this week. He’s in Charlotte, North Carolina, competing in the Amateur Disc Golf World Championships. The Mister, who I’m sure hasn’t dared to wear his embarrassing paint-stained Land’s End Super-T (with pocket) again, is in charge of driving our younger son to the courses, massaging his sore right shoulder, and boosting his ego.

It’s a dirty job . . . wish I was there helping out.

Perhaps preparing for the Olympics? (iPhone 4S)

I watched this kayaker smoothly navigating the lake in our neighboring master-planned community during a recent wog. Made my chronically sore shoulders hurt just snapping the pic.

Palms all in a row. (Nikon S6200)

I was intrigued by this line of palm trees in the median outside our local mall. Kind of looks like one tree with lots and lots of fronds.

Nature at its best. (Nikon S6200)

I think Texas corners the market on beautiful sunsets.

The cup runs alone. (Nikon S6200)

I felt sorry for this poor, pitiful, lonely, sloooooow cup. I took this photo at the Sugar Land Skeeters’ baseball game during a between-inning “race” pitting a pepper, a taco, and this sad-sack cup (gotta love minor league games with their corny activities). The cup took a loooooong time before finally reaching the third-base dugout (from the warning track).

Could Usain Bolt win dressed as the cup?

It made me wonder whether even Usain Bolt, Jamaica’s world-record sprinter, could run speedily enough in the cup costume to finally beat the dastardly pepper and taco.

Probably only Bolt could make the cup truly fast food!

Leave a Reply

