Typos and Errors Up Close

Too many mistakes! (Excuse the bad word.)

I love reading e-books on my Kindle; it’s so darned handy! The device itself is small enough to carry in my purse. I always use it when I have a solo lunch gig (it has the Chipotle guacamole stains as proof).

But for some reason I seem to notice typos and grammatical errors so much more with my electronic book version (not that I haven’t taken a red pencil a time or two to an actual print book, of course). Maybe it’s because the type is bigger.

The three mistakes on this page of the e-book I just finished (“Skywalker: Highs and Lows on the Pacific Crest Trail” by Bill Walker, which isn’t as good as his “Skywalker: Close Encounters on the Appalachian Trail”) pretty much put me over the top. I just had to snap a photo of it with my iPhone and use the Photoshop red brush to correct it.

First, the singular verb doesn’t agree with the plural noun in the caption. Then there’s the ridiculously common “it’s” error: “Its” is the possessive; “it’s” is the contraction for “it is.” How hard is that to remember? And, finally, at least one word was left out of the penultimate sentence, which really is poorly written (I would’ve opted for “. . . we had 650 miles to go to reach Canada.”)

Am I the only one who notices these kinds of blunders? Or perhaps I’m the only one who takes a photo and then edits them in Photoshop. Maybe I need to suggest that the next Kindle version comes complete with electronic red pencil for correcting those typos and grammar and punctuation slip-ups.

“Dear Amazon.com: I have a great idea for an improved Kindle!”

2 responses to “Typos and Errors Up Close

  1. You are not alone. I don’t mark them up and post them on the web, but I do notice them. It drives me crazy. My pet peeve is the supermarket checkout lane where you can buy “20 items or less.” FEWER! Worse is the abuse of quotation marks. Try our “special” – what are they saying?

Leave a Reply

