The Perils of Having a Photo Mom

My handsome black Power Ranger

Sometimes I wonder how much my sons appreciate having a mom whose passion is photography.

Can they see the excitement on my face when they suggest we do certain fun activities? Do they realize that “let me grab my camera!” is my first thought? Have they finally figured out that “just one photo” actually means “just one photo from this angle” and that eye rolling only encourages me? Just like the mom “maybe” always means “no?”

My cute pink Power Ranger

Last week was a prime example. When my younger son was trying to decide what to buy at Hot Topic (a store that always scares me, by the way—too much goth and freaky stuff) for the wear pink and blackout days of homecoming spirit week, I rooted for the pink and black Power Ranger shirts. I couldn’t wait to take pics of him wearing them!

But then, of course, I had to take everything a step further. When I was posting the photos on Facebook and in my blog, it occurred to me that all of this seemed eerily familiar.

My Jedi knight little red Power Ranger!

Sure enough, I searched my iMac’s hard drive and found a couple shots of the kid when he was seven years old and really in love with the Power Rangers (as well as Star Wars).

All that superhero stuff is tiring.

Seeing my little and big Power Ranger photos gave me a great idea—I needed to create a new cover photo for my Facebook page. Why not just put all those pix together?

My current cover photo on Facebook

So I did . . . for all my Facebook friends to see. Über cute, right?

As I recall, when the boys were born, I signed a form stating that I would try to embarrass them as much as possible in the future.

Looks like I’m holding up my end of the bargain!

2 responses to “The Perils of Having a Photo Mom

  1. Hee hee, I think my girls (and Ken) are stuck in the same situation 🙂 Great post.

Leave a Reply

