Chanukah Oh Chanukah!

I’m lighting the candle as I’m snapping the pic. Multitasking!

I’m lighting the candle as I’m snapping the pic. Multitasking!

Welcome to my annual week-long foray into low-light photography. Or, as it’s known by its given name, Chanukah!

My younger son lights his menorah.

My younger son lights his menorah.

Our favorite holiday started Saturday night. So far the kid hasn’t hated any of his gifts. But it’s still early.

This is an unusual way for my older son to wear a yarmulke.

This is an unusual way for my #1 son to wear a yarmulke.

As usual (well, for the last few years), my older son joined us via Skype from UTSA. I could hear him chanting along with the candle-lighting prayer and could watch him open his first-night present.

He likes his new watch!

He likes his new watch!

While I’m glad that technology allows us to be “together” when there are so many miles between us, I’ll be so happy when my collegian is finished with finals (which start Wednesday) and will be home for the last two nights.

Even used videogames cause a smile.

Even used videogames cause a smile.

Being together for at least part of our holiday makes it even better and definitely brighter.

The kid’s menorah is lonely.

The kid’s menorah is lonely.

Plus there will be so many more candles to photograph with the addition of yet another menorah on the seventh and eighth nights!

Sidebar: For previous Chanukah posts, please type “Chanukah” into the search box in the right column.

Leave a Reply

