A Fond Farewell to 2012

My #2 son is pumped!

My #2 son is pumped!

When they say “what a difference a year makes,” our family understands. We’ve lived it in 2012.

My #2 son poses with his Cookie Monster goodies.

The kid posed with his Cookie Monster goodies during Christmas 2011.

Looking back at my last blog post of 2011 and especially at the photo I used of my younger son (shown above), I feel amazed and blessed. Amazed at how much better my beloved baby boy looks after a year of somewhat normalcy. Blessed that he’s pretty much back on track, with his high school graduation in early June and college starting in August.

A year ago I worried that we wouldn’t see those two important events. But getting him to return to his public high school after the debacle of the online version turned out great for him. Starting his senior year in the fall was touch and go for a couple weeks, but he persevered and finished the first semester with A’s and B’s.

Even getting socks for Christmas made him smile.

Even getting socks for Christmas made him smile.

Most importantly, joy has returned to his gorgeous green-gray eyes. That empty glass is filling up once again. The Mister and I are so relieved and remain hopeful for our son’s future.

Friends and family have complimented the Mister and I for helping the kid regain his footing. But we just did what all parents should and most parents would: We swam underneath him and kept his head above water until he could once again take strokes on his own. Yes, it took all of 2011 and some parts of 2012, but we always believed that our son would be okay again. Our faith in him never wavered.

Know what the best gift of all is? Reading what our 17 year old wrote in his blog recently:

“Holy freaking cow! This semester has gone by so fast, and I have to say that it has been a blast. I enjoyed all of my classes and had fun almost every day. I will say that almost every day was the same. I woke up at the same time every day. Then I arrived at school at the same time every day. Then I took boring notes in every class every single day, and then I would go home and take a nap.”

He liked school! The kid actually liked his high school!!

Happy New Year’s Eve, y’all!! Stay safe, and please don’t drink and drive.

Leave a Reply

