Jupiter and the Moon

Jupiter looks tiny compared to the moon last night.

Jupiter looks miniscule compared to the moon last night.

Were you looking up at the sky last night? If it wasn’t cloudy, you should’ve seen a very bright dot in the darkness near the moon. Although it appeared tiny, what some might have mistaken for a star actually was big, old Jupiter!

My college roommate Jan commented about the event on Facebook yesterday along with a handy-dandy link for EarthSky. That website noted that last night the waxing gibbous moon would be at its closest to Jupiter, an event that won’t happen again until 2026.

I don’t have a crystal ball that can tell me what I may or may not be doing in 13 years. So I figured I’d better go outside last night and shoot. Fortunately, the temperature was in the 50s, so I didn’t have to suffer for my art.

I handheld my Nikon 300mm f/4 lens attached to my Nikon D300. Fortunately, I remembered the lesson I learned when I snapped pics of the supermoon last year: The key is to select spot metering to bring out the moon’s details. Otherwise it looks like a bright blob.

I hope if I get the opportunity in 2026, I haven’t forgotten how best to shoot the moon!

6 responses to “Jupiter and the Moon

  1. yourothermotherhere

    Superb shot!

  2. Thanks for the tips. I did see it without knowing its Junpiter. Will try tonight.

Leave a Reply

