Doing the Wave

Not exactly crashing to the shore, but it will do.

Not exactly crashing to the shore, but it will do.

Last Tuesday was a very windy day in the Houston area. As I was walking past a lake in our neighboring master-planned community, watching the water’s constant waves made me think of home: Chicago.

When I was growing up with my three siblings and parents, we lived about as far north in Chicago as you could without being in Evanston. Our apartment building was close to Lake Michigan, so we spent a lot of time either swimming in the water in the summer or walking on the beach in the other seasons.

Sidebar: Yes, Chicago has four seasons. Unlike Houston where it’s either too-darned hot half the time and usually pleasant the other half.

I can go back in my mind’s eye and see the wind whipping up white caps on the lake in the winter. Just like what I photographed (with my Nikon 1 V1) earlier this week.

Well, thankfully, without the snow. And the ice!

Leave a Reply

