Painting a Prettier Wildflower Picture

Note the treasures among the bluebonnets: Indian blankets plus a bee!

Note the treasures among the bluebonnets: Indian blankets plus a bee!

As much as I’ve truly enjoyed chasing after our beautiful Texas wildflowers, I can’t help but think how nice it would be if my favorites bloomed within my comfy 10-mile radius.

While I love looking at the throngs of bluebonnets and occasional (for now) Indian blankets a mere mile from my door, I yearn for more variety like I’ve seen along our state’s highways and in small towns. In particular? Indian paintbrush.

As a matter of fact, I was contemplating how happy I would be if I saw a patch or two of orange during my eight-mile walk last Sunday in my neighboring master-planned community. I was coming around a newer section of its walking path when . . . .

Holy cow!

Holy cow!

This popped into view!

Not a lot but a good start

Not a lot but a good start

There standing tall before me was a small section of Indian paintbrush, the first time I’d seen this wildflower so close to home. I was thrilled!

But then I got greedy.

I started thinking of how much I love seeing that awesome orange melding with the bluebonnets. Wouldn’t it be great to see that during my journey?

Be still, my beating heart!

Be still, my beating heart!

And it was! As I continued walking along the path, I saw a small stretch of the very mix I desired. I just about shouted with joy . . . so, of course, a runner suddenly came towards me looking quizzical. I pretended I was just singing along with a song on my iPod Shuffle until he disappeared.

Whew! Temporarily dodged a “she’s crazy” bullet!!

I’m going to eagerly watch this area to see how it fills in.

Another bluebonnet fan

Another bluebonnet fan

I’ll bet the bees feel the same!

Leave a Reply

