Brushin’ Up With the Bees

Love seeing all this brilliant red

Love seeing all this brilliant red (can you spot the bee?)

One of my favorite flowers in my neighborhood is the bottlebrush.

Lots of buds means more brushes

Lots of buds means more brushes

During the winter (or what passes as winter for the Houston area), its bushes look just about dead.

Starting to look like a brush

Starting to look like a brush

Then April hits and boom! Buds emerge followed by those lovely, red bristles. You can’t help but touch them.

Starting to fill out

Filling out more

Did you know that the bottlebrush is native to Australia? Wonder how it got all the way to Texas.

“Cover me, I’m going in!”

“Cover me, I’m going in!”

I know that those danged bees definitely are glad it did. They sure were protective of the ones I was shooting, much to my dismay and apiphobia.

It was yet another in my many “brushes” with the pesky, little stingers!

Leave a Reply

