Kleenex Alert!

I think the book’s title is appropriate for the kid.

I think the project’s title is appropriate for the kid.

Today is a red-letter day for my younger son: His senior legacy project, an English IV major grade, is done and ready to be handed in during fourth period. Whew!

The project required 12 essays, which is tough when you’re not a natural writer (easy for big brother, not so much for little bro). These, along with a collage page (helps to have a photo mom) and a to-be-finished graduation page, are the minimum requirements. Photos and/or drawings are necessary to enhance the writings. Topics could include your friends, songs, favorite TV shows, and more. The core of the project, which resembles a scrapbook, is a metaphor that each student identifies with over his/her four years in high school (such as a seed that eventually blooms into a flower).

first-i'm-a-texan-art

He’s a native Texan, too!

The kid picked the Houston Texans and their slogan “I’m a Texan” for his metaphor. He did a great job with it, relating to the team’s freshman struggles, sophomore and junior improvement, and senior success. He nailed it!

My younger son also wrote well about his favorite superhero (the Green Lantern, which also is mine), the late, great Swagwagon, and, of course, disc golf. He really put a lot of thought into the subjects, and it showed. Let’s hope his teacher agrees!

Another requirement for the seniors is that they write a letter to their parents. Reading his to us made me cry. It really shows his sensitivity and caring. Here’s part of that letter:

Mom, you have brought so much joy into my life. You help me be optimistic about anything that comes my way, even if it’s bad. Also, you always know how to cheer me up. Anytime I am sad, you start to sing, and most the times I will join in. Even though we are always out of tune, and we forget almost all the lyrics, it always brightens up my day. Another big thing is that you help me stay on task and get my schoolwork done. Without your motivation I know that I would not be doing nearly as well in school. You have loved me every day for nearly 18 years, and I can never thank you enough for it. I know that sometimes I make your life difficult, but you have to know that I love you more than anything.

Dad, you have taught me so much about being a great man. You have taught me that if you work hard, you will accomplish a lot of great things in life. You have been in the work force since the early 1970s. You always went above and beyond the job you were given, and that is why you are still successful today. Even though you now own your own company, you still don’t slack off even though you could. I admire everything you do for our family and me, and some day I will make it up to you. I know that if I am even half the man you are, then I will make it far in life. Thank you for all that you’ve done. 

Where’s that box of Kleenex?!? Love you, kiddo! We’re so proud of you!

2 responses to “Kleenex Alert!

  1. Michelle Sebesta

    I still drag David’s out and read it because this is something boys just wouldn’t do on their own. Such a great memento, especially for the mom.

Leave a Reply

