Happy Anniversary, WordPress!

Ur welcome!

Ur welcome!

Ten years ago today, Houston native Matt Mullenweg and Mike Little first released WordPress, a free blogging tool. I’m thankful, because WordPress has hosted my blog since its inception in January of 2009. I looked into the other possible blogging sites and decided that WordPress was the easiest to use with the most flexibility.

One neat perk of WordPress is its ability to flag spam comments via Akismet. This plugin has caught 11,619 bogus observations for me so far, and I really appreciate it. But even though I’m a spam hater, sometimes they’re so ridiculous, so robotic, and so off-topic that I just have to laugh . . . and save them.

xxx

Thank you . . . I think.

So in honor of WordPress’ 10th anniversary, here are some of my favorite spam moments (click on the pictures to read them). Sorry, WP, that it’s not the usual diamond jewelry.

xxx

“Girl gaga?” Is that any relation to Lady Gaga?

Appealing to My Ego (Sometimes It Works!)

“Fantastic items from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely fantastic. I really like what you’ve bought here, certainly like what you are saying and the best way during which you assert it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it smart. I can not wait to read much more from you. That is really a tremendous website.” 

x

Glad you’re so robust!

“I am really inspired with your writing abilities as neatly as with the format to your weblog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way stay up the excellent high quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great blog like this one nowadays.”

I’m blushing!

xx

No, I don’t e-mail spambots.

“Wonderful items from you, man. I have have in mind your stuff previous to and you’re simply too fantastic. I really like what you have bought right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which through which you assert it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. That is really a tremendous site.”

“You’re so excellent! I don’t reckon Ive read anything like this before. So awesome to find somebody with some original thoughts on this topic. I like reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!”

xxx

“Any other?”

“Simply desire to say your article is as amazing. The clearness on your put up is just excellent and that i could suppose you are knowledgeable on this subject. Well along with your permission allow me to clutch your feed to keep up to date with drawing close post. Thanks one million and please continue the gratifying work.”

If I ever need an ego boost and a chuckle, all I have to do is read the spam!

Leave a Reply

