A Sloooooooow Century

My race bib rests on the LeMond.

My race bib rests on the LeMond.

I finished a cycling century last Sunday. It was no big deal. Literally.

That’s because it took me three months to go from the first mile to the 100th. Good thing I wasn’t trying to get anywhere!

I was participating ever so casually in the 100 Miles to Nowhere, which helps raise money to send kids whose parents have or had cancer to a special summer camp. This is the brainchild of Elden Nelson, who’s better known as the Fat Cyclist.

Yes, it’s as uncomfortable as it looks.

Yes, it’s as uncomfortable as it looks.

My weapon of choice for “attacking” the 100-miler was our fairly new LeMond g-Force UT stationary bike. It’s a nice, high-tech cycle with a great computer readout. Too bad it couldn’t pedal for me. During my chopped-up century, I averaged about 10 miles on my every-now-and-then riding sessions on the wimpy level two. Total weak sauce, my friends.

Chris Froome battles to keep the yellow jersey.

Chris Froome battles to keep the yellow jersey.

What pushed me to finally finish the “race” was the Tour de France. I only had 10 miles to go last Sunday, and I needed extra inspiration. I found it in watching leader Chris Froome’s stage win on storied Mount Ventoux while I pedaled. As he won his stage, I thankfully reached the end of mine and achieved my goal.

Of course, Froome’s ride was a tad more impressive than mine. He completed 150 miles. All in less than six hours. In the flippin’ Alps! I’m sure he was ecstatic after he crossed the finish line.

As was I! I wasn’t spurred on by a time goal, thank goodness. Instead, I just wanted to earn the right to wear the 100 Miles to Nowhere t-shirt.

Isn’t it lovely?

Isn’t it lovely?

And I did!

Leave a Reply

