Peekaboo Putting

Marcus hopes for a par.

Marcus hopes for a par.

Timing is everything in life . . . and photography.

Take disc golf, for example. Mistime when you snap your shutter, and you can distract the player or entirely miss having the disc in the photo, making for either a miffed person or an uninteresting picture.

I’ve been taking disc golf pix for almost six years, so usually my timing is pretty good. I usually end up with a calm player and a decent action photo.

Usually.

Yes, that IS Patrick sending his disc towards the basket.

Yes, that IS Patrick sending his disc towards the basket.

For some reason—heat, humidity, slow reflexes, weak talent—when I was shooting our weekly Southwest Handicap Mini last Tuesday, I caught several players with their throwing hands obscuring their faces. I could understand this happening if any of these guys were shy or avoided photo ops.

Sidebar: When I posted the above photo on Facebook, the mini’s fearless leader, Eric, commented that Patrick was showing off the rarely used Riverdance putt. Makes me laugh every time I look at the picture.

Casey’s disc heads for the chains.

Casey’s disc heads for the chains.

But even Casey finally has accepted my presence on the course, even complaining that because I wasn’t at a certain basket, he missed a putt (could the Nikon D700 have magical powers?). So I have to chalk it up to the dreaded “oops, I blew it” excuse. After all, everyone would rather see faces than hands.

Adam putts it in.

Adam told me to shoot from this angle; glad he didn’t miss!

Even when those handsome faces are somewhat obscured by chains!

4 responses to “Peekaboo Putting

  1. We have those chain things in one of my local parks. I have never been able to work out just what it is. Can you shed any light on it?

Leave a Reply

