My #2 Son Moves On

Almost to Huntsville; you can see the big Sam Houston statue up the road.

Almost to Huntsville; you can see the big Sam Houston statue up the road.

You would think that after three straight years of college move-ins that our family would’ve been like pros when it came to transporting my younger son last Saturday to Huntsville.

Sadly, you would be mistaken.

The boys have their own bathroom.

The boys have their own bathroom.

That’s because we remain procrastinators. As if watching our younger son leave the nest isn’t bad enough, the Mister and I insisted on adding to our stress by waiting until the last minute to get things done (although that’s absolutely nothing new for us). Last Friday night (into early morning) wasn’t a fun time to be a member of our household.

The "kitchen area": Small but usable

The “kitchen area”: Small but usable

Fortunately, we pretty much had our act together when it came time to hit the road for the 90-minute trip north to Sam Houston State University (with only one return for a key, forgotten item while we were still close to home). The Mister and I drove the majority of the kid’s essentials in our Honda Odyssey; our sons followed in the Ford Fusion, which our younger son will keep near his dorm.

Because our sons are so close, we were glad that they had a last chance to talk, laugh, and commiserate about classes. I’m sure they were trying to top each other when saying how much they would miss their parents (as if!).

Hope they have friends stop by.

Hope they have friends stop by.

We got to the kid’s dorm, Sam Houston Village, which is fairly new, around 10:30 a.m. Which meant we had to wait in the heat for the doors to open for about a half hour (move-in was 11 a.m.-5 p.m.). Few cars were able to get close to the doors for unloading (there are three residence halls in the same area, all with students moving in at the same time), so we were glad we had our company’s dolly (which just so happened to be that key, forgotten item).

Looking good at his desk (with his brother asleep on the bed)

Looking good at his desk (with his brother asleep on the bed)

RJ, my son’s roommate who he has known since kindergarten, and his parents had pretty much moved his stuff into his bedroom by the time we got to their second-floor room. The boys each have their own bedroom with separate, locking doors. They share the sitting area, kitchen (microwave, small fridge, sink, and cabinets), and bathroom. It’s very nice, but, quite honestly, we were used to the spaciousness of our older son’s UTSA dorm. This one is tiny in comparison.

Good thing my younger son didn’t have a lot to move in. He actually could rent out half of his closet!

I think this will get a lot of use.

I think this will get a lot of use.

One thing the kid insisted on bringing was his disc golf mini basket. I’m sure he and RJ will have weekly competitions. He also has his disc golf bag with him. Hopefully, he’ll keep his skills sharp at some local courses.

Ready for college!

Ready for college!

After the two families finished moving the boys in, setting up electronics, and making a quick Target run, it was about 5:30 p.m. Time to say goodbye before both of them walked across campus for ultimate frisbee practice. (It’s nice that both of them are jocks.)

RJ’s mom, Veronica, and I marveled at how we met 13 years ago in Ms. Germany’s kindergarten class. Who could have guessed back then that our little cuties would be college roommates! Nice how that worked out.

Brothers and besties

Brothers and besties

And now both my sons are in college. The younger one told me that they plan to Skype; I know they’ll always keep in touch. Now they’ll have even more to share.

As I watched my beloved baby boy walk away from us after my last, tearful hug, a lot of thoughts went through my head. I was so happy that he seemed to be right at home in his dorm. I was glad that he already had an activity (ultimate) where he can meet other students. I was relieved that he had several days until school starts (tomorrow) to walk his schedule and get to know the campus.

But, of course, I couldn’t help but feel sad for myself. Our house would be so quiet without him. I know I’m going to miss him (and his brother) an astronomical amount.

As well as all my blogging material!

Leave a Reply

