Lovely Scenery . . . for Photos, Not Disc Golf

The Mister sends his upshot away from the lake.

The Mister sends his upshot away from the lake.

My father always would remind me to watch my backgrounds. It’s a basic photography rule of thumb to make sure that you don’t have branches going in and out of ears or posts growing out of heads. (Back when he was tutoring me in my youth, Photoshop didn’t exist. Heck, personal computers were a faraway fantasy!)

Billy hopes his putt goes in.

Billy hopes his putt goes in.

Looking at some of the pics I snapped last Saturday at the First Colony Aquatic Center Disc Golf Course Grand Re-Opening Mini (man, is that a mouthful!), one thing really stood out: The background. As in the scenic, 23-acre lake that edges the course.

Michael was glad his upshot stopped short of the lake.

Michael was glad his upshot stopped short of the watery grave.

Disc golfers, of course, hate the water. And this particular lake is home to a multitude of plastic, including plenty deposited by and never to be returned to the Mister and our younger son. It seems like its appetite is never appeased, unfortunately.

Chuck butterflies in his disc.

Chuck butterflies in his disc.

But as a photographer, I love the setting that all that grayish-blue provides. It can really make the discs and the players stand out. I was shooting with my Nikon 1 V1 for a change, and the little, mirrorless camera did a great job documenting the action.

Ryan looks more like a ballet dancer than a disc golfer.

Ryan looks more like a ballet dancer than a disc golfer.

I just made sure that I stayed away from anyone whose disc was sailing into that lovely liquid!

Leave a Reply

